All About Me

Hi my name is Esther Komen. I am a teacher of year 2 at Rangikura School. This will be my 3rd year here. My teaching approach/style  I like to have the kids working along side me where we are both setting goals and ways to meet them. The students in my class have a voice I try  to ensure that I have WALTS that are in kids speak. They have a good understanding of why we are doing the things in our class. I attempt to have learning activities that are relevant to my students and their families. I ensure that I build up a good relationship with my students family.

My interests are cooking and gardening. I love to collect cookbook and try a range of recipes. My family, friends and colleagues enjoy tasting a wide of the food that I cook. If I want to get in the ‘good books’ with my colleagues I make a big batch of cheese scones.

rangikura school view 059
Cheese Scones.

At the moment my favourite cookbooks are from Annebel Langbein, Chelsea Winters and I am looking at Donna Hay and Nigella Lawson recipes and books. My girls (Jess and Amber) and my partner (Kevin) feel I have a problem with cookbooks, LOL.

esthers phone 070
My first attempt at a Beef Salad.

I am slowly building up gardens at this house.  I am mainly growing vegetable plants in pots, wine barrels and any other container that I think will work. I have a great crop of Beef Steak tomatoes growing in containers. I finally got my raspberry bush growing this year and got some very small raspberries off it. I am also growing herbs in pots but have to admit that my mint is not doing so well.

Late last year I join a gym and I becoming gym bunny.  I miss going when I dont go and when I go enjoy it even thou I know the next few days my body is going to be sore. I particularly enjoy my box-fit and swiss ball classes. When I’m not doing them I do my own program.

esthers phone 107
My mum visiting my YR 3 class in 2014

 

 

One thought on “All About Me”

Leave a comment